Meeting Minutes Jan 14, 2011

Alaska BBQ Association elects officers,
crowns Team of the Year

By Dan Gilson

Jan 14, 2011, Fairbanks, Alaska. The Alaska BBQ Association (AkBBQA) held a General Membership Meeting where Officers were elected and the 2010 Team of the Year was crowned.

Outgoing President David Pruhs presided over the meeting which began with a pot luck dinner featuring a grilled Tri-Tip roast with a cognac peppercorn sauce and an apple and currant stuffed pork loin with a chardonnay tarragon sauce. Business included officer reports, 2011 event schedule, Team of the Year Awards, annual elections, and a special recognition for the founding president.

All members in attendance participated in the election of new officers for 2011 with the following results: President: Norman Jones; Vice President: Jeff Deckard; Secretary: Marilyn Nigro; Treasurer: Karen Schuster; IT/Communications Director: Vacant; Event Coordinator: Allen Shaw; Membership Director: Shelly Deckard; Judging Director: Gene Gustafson; Historian: Dan Gilson; and the past president David Pruhs taking the Marketing Director position. The new board will hold their first meeting on 2 Feb.

Following the elections, the Team of the Year standings were announced. The Team of the Year competition is a points race among teams who compete on the AkBBQA competition circuit. Points are awarded for overall finishes in AkBBQA events. 2010 saw over 20 teams competing at five events throughout interior Alaska. In the end, the 3 Dogs BBQ team consisting of Dan & Barb Gilson, Andy McDonough, Joel Jensky, John Brojakowski, and Trent Jackson was crowned the inaugural Team of the Year for 2010. Team of the Year winners will receive invitations to National Level Competitions where they will have the opportunity to compete against some of the nation’s finest BBQ Competition Cooking teams. Following them was Boss Hogg BBQ (2009 State Champion) in second, Squeal on U BBQ (2010 State Champion) in third, Turnin-n-Burnin in fourth and Pork U in fifth. The Team of the Year standings will be submitted to the National BBQ Festival organizers and the top teams will receive invitations to the National BBQ Festival Best of the Best Invitational BBQ Competition in Waycross, Ga.

David Pruhs, the outgoing President was presented a special award for his involvement in bringing Competition BBQ to Alaska with the first Alaska BBQ Championship in 2005 and for his work in founding the Alaska BBQ Association and serving as its first president.

The AkBBQA published the following events schedule for 2011:

            July 16 – BBQ Contest, Battle of the Bands, Fort Wainwright

            July 23-24 – Alaska State BBQ Championship, Pioneer Park, Fairbanks

            Aug 5-6 -  Fair BBQ Competition, Fairbanks

            Nov 24 – Thankful Q Charity event, Rescue Mission, Fairbanks



BrrB BQ 2014

Upcoming Events







Alaska Weather

Southeast Find more about Weather in Juneau, AK
Southcentral Find more about Weather in Anchorage, AK
Interior Find more about Weather in Fairbanks, AK
West Find more about Weather in Bethel, AK

We're on Facebook!!

Check out our facebook page!!